Motivation for Training

Hi Guys!

I have to admit that there are certain days when I don’t feel like training. It could be because I’m feeling sore from all those drills, or I’m kind of frustrated over a certain technique that I can’t get right, or I feel sorry for myself because I’m not as fast or as mentally sharp as the others and I embarrass myself sometimes when I space out.

Usually when this happens, I find that looking up motivational quotes from inspiring athletes help me remember why I started training in the first place. Out of the many lines that I have saved on my phone, this is the one that really strikes me the most:

“If size mattered, the elephant would be the king of the jungle.” - Rickson Gracie

I love this because Jiu Jitsu really brings out the best in everyone and you always have a fighting chance whether you’re a petite female against someone twice as big as you, or a handicapped person against someone who isn’t, everyone gets a fighting chance as long as you have the heart, the knowledge and proper execution of techniques, and the right attitude, you’ll get to your goals in no time.

If you’re the kind of person who goes through some apprehensions for reasons that may or may not be similar to mine, I’d love to know what you do to get right back on track.

What’s your motivation for training? It can’t hurt to have more than one source for that, right?

There’s 3 things I personally would do influence my motivation for training

Set a goal.

If I had a goal in mind, like a specific thing I want to accomplish and get done. I feel motivated and ultimately want to achieve my goal.
There can be several goals under this, what I would do is focus on one of the following:

• Reach a specific position (and then work from there)
  • Land to finish a specific submission (then work from there)
  • Escape a position successfully (then work from there)
  • Defend a submission successfully (then work from there)

Light up the competitive fire