Better supplement to your BJJ training: Wrestling or Judo?

This question has been a recurring topic for me over the years. I started training Judo as a supplement to my BJJ but there was a time when I moved to wrestling and had more success there.

Recently I started doing more gi training and I am slowly going back to my Judo ways lol. I’d say a combination of both would always be good, but personally I lean towards wrestling (like 60% to Judo’s 40%), but having a few slick Judo throws are always welcome.

How about you guys? Which of the 2 do you prefer and why? :slight_smile:

Admittedly, I’ve tried attending a few Judo classes in the past but never had any opportunity to experience wrestling. I can only speak from observation at this point by saying that wrestling might be a better supplement for BJJ and maybe in MMA (if you’re taking your training further up that sport) based on how most of the UFC Champions have really solid wrestling skills like Khabib, Jon Jones, etc.

But that’s just my two cents. :slightly_smiling_face::v::woman_shrugging:t4:

1 Like

I can only speak from observation at this point by saying that wrestling might be a better supplement for BJJ and maybe in MMA (if you’re taking your training further up that sport) based on how most of the UFC Champions have really solid wrestling skills like Khabib, Jon Jones, etc.

I agree with you there. Nogi grappling and MMA lean towards wrestling as shown in the UFC and ADCC. Gi BJJ can be tricky though I have to admit, some like Judo (Ribeiro bros, Roger Gracie, Megaton), but some are pretty good with wrestling too like Buchecha. So idk lol.

1 Like

Judo used to be similar to wrestling in terms of doing single leg and double leg set ups for the throw. It’s just that current IJF is kind of ruining the entertainment aspect with the no leg touch rule among others.

Depending on the judo school, newaza isn’t as good as other grapplingng sports