Are you planning to do MMA?

I am still primarily a BJJ guy but I have been training MMA for the past 3 years. While I find a lot of cool benefits in training MMA (it improved my scrambles a ton!), I only do it for training purposes - I don’t think I’ll ever fight in MMA, especially with my age and injuries.

How about you guys?

1 Like

I’m still a firm believer that you have to be a little bit crazy to do MMA. Not bad crazy, but just have that relentless mindset to keep pushing.

1 Like

Yeah man, MMA is no joke!

Even at the amateur level I see a lot of crazy wars from newer guys.

I would love to try MMA. It’s pretty scary and exciting at the same time and I’m open to doing it someday. :blush:

1 Like

I think MMA is very difficult. I started out Muay Thai before then fell in love with Jits, why? Because less injuries or less impact on the body. Having said that I don’t think i’d plan to fight now that I fell in love with a flowy yet deadly sport. :slight_smile: Not that punching another in the face is flowy at all! :laughing:

2 Likes

I grappler like you will have a huge advantage if ever you decide to pull the trigger and fight! I had a female friend who is into Judo and she did very well in her first ammy match. She didn’t even train much lol.

1 Like

Wow, you must have had some pretty intense sparring partners in Muay Thai. The only injuries that I’ve ever incurred during my Muay Thai days were some bruises and sprains on my wrist.

In BJJ though, I’ve seen a lot of my friends get a black eye and serious arm and leg fractures that ended up with them sporting casts and using crutches or triangular bandages. :sweat_smile: That’s why I don’t partner up with a fellow newbie white belt that often during open mats. I feel less prone to injuries if I roll with the colored belts. But that’s my experience here. :grin: